Trying my hand at Polymer clay

2016-01-19 10.06.06

So I was given some polymer clay some time ago, and I’be been meaning to have a go. There are lots of different brands out there, but Fimo and Premo! seem to be the most common brands in your local craft shop.

One thing I did know, and it’s that you have to condition the clay before working. That basically just means softening it up, either by putting it through a roller, or just kneeding it with your fingers, depending on how much you are going to use.

I had seen some basic tutorials in magazines before, so I thought I’d wing it, and try to make a heart

2016-01-19 14.04.19

As you can see, it didn’t really turn out as hoped.

But that’s one of the great things about it, especially if you are using it for jewellery making. Mistakes can always be used for other things.

2016-01-19 14.03.22

So I added some more colour, rolled it out, and came up with something completely new.

These are some of my finished jewellery pieces. I can safely say, I will be buying more clay, and doing some more experimenting.

2016-01-19 14.00.51
Jewellery made from polymer clay

 

 

2 thoughts on “Trying my hand at Polymer clay

Leave a Reply

